Soup was founded in 2004 by Trondheim based multi instrumentalist Erlend Viken. Viken recorded Soup’s first album, Give It An Empire out of his bedroom during January 2005, of which a highly limited 50 copies CD-R edition was released. Though the Empire album never hit the charts, it was in many ways the base of what should become the characteristic Soup sound; a musical landscape dominated by filmatic, melancholic and dynamic elements. In 2005 Viken started recording the slightly more electronic follow up; Come On Pioneers.

The album was printed in a 300 copies CD edition, released by Viken himself late 2005. The album contained several songs of a more upbeat character, some of which got listed on Norwegian radio. The album was soon picked up by Oslo based indie label How Is Annie Records, who re-issued the album several times during 2006/2007. In april 2008 viken did a short term collaboration with drummer Stig Wålberg and guitarist Martin Skjold at Volda Student Bands Night. The gig marked the starting point of Soup as a band, and as live act.

After moving back to Trondheim, Viken teamed up with his childhood friends, and former members of the metal band Klompfot. Drummer Sverre Leraand, Bass player Rune Leraand, and guitarist Ørjan Saur set to interpret and translate the previous material for a live format, as well as working on new material for the upcoming Children Of E.L.B. album. Although the E.L.B. album is written by Viken, the mere collaboration of the four members helped give the album a more lively and organic sound than the previous albums. Joined also by Motorpsycho guitarist Hans Magnus Ryan as co-producer, this release sets a new standard, and also elicits a lot of positive attention for the band. The Norwegian ABC News awards it the “album of the year”, as the four piece starts touring the Norwegian scene. The double album Children of E.L.B. is released on both CD and Vinyl.

beauty-of-our-youth-lasse-2-hoileAfter playing various festivals in Norway, as well as supporting the slightly legendary Maserati at Kampen Bistro in Oslo, the members part ways in 2011, and a new constellation is set to continue the band. With Guitarist Ørjan Langnes, bass player Jan Tore Megaard and drummer Thomas Nyborg, Soup starts working on their fourth album, The Beauty Of Our Youth. The faithful “Souporter”, and Danish photo artist Lasse Hoile, following Soup since 2006, continues his work with the band. After shaping the visuals of the E.L.B. album, the audio visual bond is further strengthened with the layout of  the Beauty album. The album is recorded, as with the E.L.B. album, in Brygga Studio in Trondheim. Engineered By Håkon Dalen (engineer for the E.L.B album, and former bass stand-in), and produced by Soup. The album also feature Trøndelag Orkesterforening, with a full symphonic opening of the track Memoirs Of An Imaginary Friend.


As opposed to the previous albums, The Beauty Of Our Youth is not mixed by Viken, but by Scottish producer and musician Paul Savage in Chem19 Studios, Glasgow. In between the recordings of The Beauty album, Viken also records and produces the albums DUUN and Entropia, as well as releases two compilations of various sketches and demoes. The DUUN album is in collaboration with Vikens brother and author Hallvard Viken, who writes the lyrics for the album. Soup opens for Swedish prog legends Opeth at Studentersamfundet in August 2012, and they embark on a Greek/Turkish tour in March/April 2013, playing several shows in both Athens, Thessaloniki, Ankara and Istanbul, including a live performance on the Greek TV show Radio Arvila. The Beauty album releases in September 2013 and receives several great reviews in both Norwegian and European press.

By the end of 2014 Thomas Nyborg leaves the band, and Espen Berge takes his place. After rehearsing with Berge early 2015, Soup joins stoner rock newcomers Spidergawd on their European tour in March 2015. In the transitions between drummers, Viken also collaborates with experimental percussionist Kim Henry Kling Ortveit for various compositions yet to be released. After the European tour in March, the band takes a recess before starting to work on the material for the upcoming album. This time also in collaboration with Paul Savage and Lasse Hoile, recorded in Namsos RC Studio, produced by Paul Savage and Soup. Viken goes to Glasgow in July 2016 to join the mixing of the album at Chem19 Studios, and the album is mastered at Strype Audio in November that year. During the 2015 Spidergawd tour, Soup is signed to Crisping Glover and Stickman Records, who also will release the upcoming album, Remedies.


Years later, it’s 2020, and Soup will be releasing their final album as a band. Visions is set to hit the shelves later this year.

© 2020 Soup Band. All Rights Reserved. Contact